Diwali in Australia

Australia, officially the Commonwealth of Australia, is a country comprising the mainland of the Australian continent, the island of Tasmania and numerous smaller islands.

Diwali Celebrations in Australia

Neighbouring countries include Indonesia, East Timor and Papua New Guinea to the north; the Solomon Islands, Vanuatu and New Caledonia to the north-east; and New Zealand to the south-east.

Canberra is capital of Australia while Sydney is the largest city. Some of the other major cities of Australia include – Melbourne, Brisbane, Perth, Adelaide, Newcastle-Maitland, Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Hobart, etc.

Australia has no state religion. Around 61 % of the Australia’s population is Christain. Hinduism is followed by 1.3% population while Buddhism is followed by 2.5% population.

Diwali Celebrations in Australia :

Deepavali Celebrations in Australia

Australia has an estimated 276,000 Indians as settled in Australia. Most of them are the follower of the Hindu religion, hence they celebrate Diwali.

The Hindu Council of Australia, a national body representing all Australian Hindus, has been celebrating this festival of lights for the past 13 years on a large scale in Australia.

During Diwali, Australian Hindus gathered to enjoy music and dance, live performances, dance and craft workshops, Indian food and interactive items with AFL players and Australian cricketers.

Just like in India, Hindu’s in Australia clean their homes prior to Diwali. During Diwali they decorate their homes with lights and diya’s, eat lots of sweets and delicious foods, make beautiful rangoli’s outside their homes, burst crackers and spend time with friends and family members.

People also visit temples during Diwali to seek blessings of god and goddesses. Some of the famous Hindu temples in Australia are located in Helensburgh, New South Wales, Perth, Melbourne and Sydney.

If you Like This Post Please Comment Below and Share ...