Diwali (दिवाली) also known as Deepavali (दीपावली) or the “Festival of Lights” is a five day Hindu festival which starts on Dhanteras, celebrated on the thirteenth lunar day of Krishna paksha (dark fortnight) of the Hindu calendar month Ashwin and ends on Bhaubeej, celebrated on second lunar day of Shukla paksha (bright fortnight) of the Hindu calendar month Kartik.

Diwali Celebrations 2018

Five Days of Diwali

Day 1 : Dhanteras (also known as Dhanatrayodashi)
Day 2 : Choti Diwali (also known as Naraka Chaturdashi / Kali Chaudas)
Day 3 : Diwali or Lakshmi Puja
Day 4 : Padwa (also Celebrated Bali Pratipada and Govardhan Puja)
Day 5 : Bhaiduj or Bhaubeej (also known as Yama Dwitiya)


Diwali Celebrations around the World :

Diwali Celebrations around the World

Celebrations of Diwali are not just confined to India, but the festival is celebrated in different parts of the world.

Not only in India, but Diwali is a official holiday in other countries like Nepal, Sri Lanka, Myanmar, Mauritius, Guyana, Trinidad & Tobago, Suriname, Malaysia, Singapore and Fiji.

Apart from these countries, Diwali is celebrated in other countries like Thailand, Indonesia, Japan, Australia, New Zealand, Kenya Tanzania, South Africa, Netherlands, Canada, UK and USA.

Some of the common Diwali celebrations around the world include decorating homes with lights and diya’s, making Rangoli’s outside entrance of homes, wearing new clothes, eating delicious food and lots of sweets, bursting firecrackers, spending time with friends and family members, and most importantly worshiping god and goddesses especially goddess of wealth – Lakshmi.